Go to top of page

Mergers to benefit learning

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

A school in the state’s North and 2 schools on the Yorke Peninsula will be closing at the end of the year and merging with neighbouring schools in their district in 2017.

As part of the Voluntary Amalgamation Program, Farrell Flat Primary will merge with Clare Primary; Port Vincent Primary with Minlaton District; and Edithburgh Primary with Yorketown Area.

The decision to close the schools was made in consultation with the school communities which came after a steady decline in enrolments, prompting staff and parents to consider the future sustainability of the schools.

The mergers will deliver a greater range and quality of curriculum offerings to these students. The proceeds released from the mergers will be invested in improvements to the education facilities at the merged schools.