Go to top of page

Face-to-face training for governing councils

Some governing or school councils can benefit from specific training. This can be helpful when new people join or when complex issues need to be discussed.

The free training is delivered to partnership regions instead of individual sites.

Governing council members, site leaders and other relevant and interested people are encouraged to come along.

What is covered

  • governance vs management
  • role and functions of governing councils
  • membership composition
  • office bearers
  • committees
  • meeting procedures
  • legal obligations and conflict of interest
  • dispute mediation
  • information privacy principles
  • engagement vs consultation vs representation.

How much time

The session usually takes about 2 hours.


To register, email decd.sitegovernance@sa.gov.au.

When and where

Date and time

Start time

Partnership region


Registration due date

Wednesday 21 March 2018
Week 8, Term 1


Fleurieu and Sea and Vines

Mount Compass Area School
School Rd, Mount Compass SA 5210

Monday 19 March 2018

Wednesday 9 May 2018
Week 2, Term 2


Tea Tree Gully and Modbury 

Banksia Park International High School
610 Milne Road, Banksia Park SA 5091

Monday 7 May 2018

Wednesday 16 May 2018
Week 3, Term 2



Mark Oliphant College
99 Douglas Drive Munno Para  SA 5115

Monday 14 May 2018

Wednesday 30 May 2018
Week 5, Term 2


Lower Mid North

Riverton Primary School
21 Swinden Street, Riverton 5412

Monday 28 May 2018

Wednesday 13 June 2018
Week 7, Term 2


Green Hill South

Black Forest Primary School
679 South Road, Black Forest SA 5035

Friday 8 June 2018

Wednesday 27 June 2018
Week 9, Term 2



Swan Reach Area School
8 Showground Road, Swan Reach SA 5354

Monday 25 June 2018


Governing Councils, Office for Education and Early Childhood

Phone: 8226 9617
Emaildecd.sitegovernance [at] sa.gov.au