Go to top of page

Attending Adelaide Botanic High School

Adelaide Botanic High School is its own separate school and will have its own identity and focus.

However, Adelaide Botanic High School will work closely with Adelaide High Schools in their local partnership to ensure a coordinated education service is delivered to families living in their shared area.

Enrolment criteria

Specific enrolment criteria are being developed for both Adelaide Botanic High School and Adelaide High School to manage demand and capacity.

When demand from families living in the shared zone exceeds spaces available, consideration will be given to:

  • students with siblings currently at the school
  • distance from the child’s home to the school
  • social and family links to the school (eg immediate family member is an old scholar)
  • curriculum options only available at the preferred school (excluding special interest programs)
  • transportation and location convenience
  • all other students living in the shared zone.

The enrolment criteria will be outlined in a capacity management plan for each school and published via government gazette.

Specialist programs

Initially, Adelaide High School and Adelaide Botanic High School will continue to offer special interest programs to families from all over South Australia, regardless of their residential address.

Adelaide Botanic High School will have a special entry process for their health and science pathway while Adelaide High School will retain existing specialist programs in languages, cricket and rowing.

The entry process for these special interest programs generally occur in term 1 of the year prior to starting at the school.

Places will be allocated to students through the specialist program application process, managed by each school.

Sibling living outside of the shared zone enrolments

As the demand from the expanded zone area is relatively unknown, the two schools will continue the current policy position of no sibling claims for families living outside of the zone.

Your child may have a younger sibling who will be eligible to enrol once the expanded shared zone takes effect in 2019, however, upper year levels will not be able to transfer high schools unless there is a vacancy.

International student enrolment

International students will be placed after places have been secured for in-zone enrolments.

Progressive enrolments

Adelaide Botanic High School will open in 2019 and will have progressive enrolments. This means:

  • 2019 - year levels 8 and 9
  • 2020 - year levels 8, 9 and 10
  • 2021 - year levels 8, 9, 10 and 11
  • 2022 - year levels 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12.

Aside from the once-off year 9 intake process at Adelaide Botanic High School in 2019, applications for enrolment will be for those students starting high school (ie year 8).

Other year levels will be encouraged to remain at their current high school or directed to a neighbouring school, and if requested be placed on the schools’ enrolment register if a vacancy becomes available. 

When to enrol

You can register interest in your child attending the high school through the year 7 to 8 transition process.

This process generally runs between April and May the year prior to your child starting high school (year 7 in South Australia).

When the process opens each year, all public primary school students will have the forms and information distributed to them by their primary school.

If your child attends a non-public school, you will be able to download forms from the sa.gov.au website or collect a transition pack from the high school or local education office.

2019 intake of year 9 students

The once-off year 9 intake process in 2019 is currently being determined and is likely to be coordinated by the school.

Further advice will be distributed to families when the registration process begins.

However, final offers for enrolment will occur towards the end of term 2, 2018.  

Zoning and enrolment

Adelaide Botanic High School will have a single shared zone with Adelaide High School, allowing parents within the zone to nominate their preferred city high school. 

From 2019 the zone for schooling in the Adelaide CBD will be expanded to include the suburbs of:

  • Bowden
  • Brompton
  • Hindmarsh
  • Hilton
  • Kurralta Park
  • Glandore
  • Black Forest
  • Nailsworth
  • Medindie
  • Medindie Gardens
  • Gilberton
  • Walkerville
  • Collinswood
  • eastern parts of:
    • Torrensville
    • Mile End
    • Richmond
    • Marleston
  • the sections of Clarence Park zoned to Black Forest Primary School.

You can read the city schooling zoning description or view the zoning map

Although families can nominate to attend either school, as both schools will have a capacity management plan, initially they will only consider enrolments based on the agreed criteria for enrolment. This will limit the number of students able to gain entry who live outside of the shared zone.


For more information and to register for updates contact: DECD.CBDSchooling [at] sa.gov.au 

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.