Go to top of page

Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative

The Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative helps principals, teachers and students to support gender and sexual diversity in schools. The Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative is not a school subject in the curriculum. Separate lessons on relationships and sexual health are taught through the Australian Curriculum Health and Physical Education learning area.

Same sex attracted, intersex and gender diverse young people suffer high levels of verbal and physical homophobic and transphobic abuse, with 80% of it occurring at school.

Safe, supportive and respectful learning environments are positive for students, leading to improved academic outcomes, increased confidence and improved attendance.

The Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative will operate for 3 years and the department has partnered with SHINE SA to deliver services and support to secondary schools. These services include:

  • development to school staff
  • advice and support to school staff
  • promoting youth leadership, eg through the annual Action Day.

SHINE SA can provide information on gender diversity to parents if they want it.

School engagement with the Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative is voluntary. Member schools make a commitment to a school environment that does not tolerate homophobic, biphobic or transphobic bullying, and that is safe and inclusive for the whole school community.

Parents’ consent will be sought for student participation in activities that are organised or delivered by SHINE SA, eg Action Day.

Member schools

These schools are part of the initiative. Their contact details can be found on the education and care locations directory:

  • Aberfoyle Park High School
  • Adelaide High School
  • Adelaide Secondary School of English
  • Banksia Park International High School
  • Birdwood High School
  • Blackwood High School
  • Bowden Brompton Community School
  • Brighton Secondary School
  • Christies Beach High School
  • Coomandook Area School
  • Craigmore High School
  • Edward John Eyre High School
  • Findon High School
  • Glenunga International High School
  • Golden Grove High School
  • Hallett Cove School
  • Hamilton Secondary College
  • Henley High School
  • John Pirie Secondary School
  • Kangaroo Island Community Education
  • Kapunda High School
  • Le Fevre High School
  • Leigh Creek Area School
  • Mannum Community School
  • Marryatville High School
  • Millicent High School
  • Mount Barker High School
  • Mount Gambier High School
  • Murray Bridge High School
  • Nuriootpa High School
  • Ocean View College
  • Open Access College
  • Paralowie R-12 School
  • Pasadena High School
  • Plympton International College
  • Port Augusta Secondary School
  • Port Broughton Area School
  • Renmark High School
  • Reynella East College
  • Salisbury High School
  • Seaford Secondary College
  • Seaton High School
  • Seaview High School
  • The Heights School
  • Thebarton Senior College
  • Tumby Bay Area School
  • Underdale High School
  • Unley High School
  • Urrbrae Agricultural High School
  • Victor Harbor High School
  • Waikerie High School
  • Warriappendi School
  • Whyalla High School
  • Willunga High School
  • Windsor Gardens B-12
  • Wirreanda High School
  • Woodville High
  • Wudinna Area School
  • Yorketown Area School.

Immediate support

If you need immediate support, one of these services can help:

  • Lifeline Australia 13 11 14
  • Kids Helpline 1800 55 1800
  • Headspace 1800 650 890
  • QLife 1800 184 527.​


Safe Schools Anti-bullying Initiative

Phone: 8226 0870
Email: DECD.CSW [at] sa.gov.au


Phone: 8300 5328
Email: safe.schools [at] shinesa.org.au
Web: www.shinesa.org.au